All News

Mark Asselin receives Honorable Mention award at ImNO 2019

We are back from the 17h Symposium of the Imaging Netrowk of Ontario (ImNO 2019).  It was fun, a delegation of 12 Perk Lab members attended the conference. Our posters were done nicely, and  Zac Baum and Mark Asselin were brilliant on the stage. Mark Asselin received Honorable Mention award for his papder and presentation, which means 4th place out of 184 papers. This is all the more valuable because only 6 papers were from undergrads (all from the Perk Lab, btw) and the overwhelming majority of papers were from PhD students. Congrats Mark, congrats all.

Hillary Lia received the QSC Student Distinguished Service Award

Hillary Lia received the School of Computing Student Distinguished Service Award. She was commended for her leadership and extraordinary dedication to outreach, recruitment and supporting junior undergraduate students at the School of Computing.  I am immensely proud of Hillary and forever grateful for her relentless efforts for bringing so many brilliant young people to our fold and for helping us make the School (and the Perk Lab within) a true academic home for them.

Science Rendezvous 2018

The Perk Lab held a booth at Science Rendezvous 2018 for children to try their hand at percutaneous procedures. Demos included MIOS that gave our visitors "X-ray vision", and Operation Pig for future doctors to try computer assisted surgery. 



Perk Lab members receive a waive of new competitive fellowships

In addition to the running fellowships, Perk Lab members received a dozen or so new ones.  Please read the fill article to see the complete list.


• Natasja Janssen, Queen's Research Opportunity Post Doctoral Research Fellowship, 2018/2019

• Hejie Cui, MITACS Globalink Research Internship, 2018

• Rachael House, Ontario Graduate Fellowship 2018/2019

• Zachary Baum, Ontario Graduate Fellowship 2018/2019

Our director, Gabor Fichtinger, was named Canada Research Chair - Tier 1

Our lab director, Dr.Fichtinger, has received the prestigious Tier 1 Canada Research Chair!

Goal of the Canada Research Chairs Program is to attract and retain some of the world’s most accomplished and promising minds. Tier 1 Chairs, tenable for seven years and renewable once, are for outstanding researchers acknowledged by their peers as world leaders in their fields. For each Tier 1 Chair, the institution receives $200,000 annually for seven years.

Rebecca Hisey receives 2nd place poster award at SPIE Medical Imaging 2018

Rebecca Hisey received the prestigious 2nd place poster award (hnoable mention) at SPIE Medical Imaging 2018 for her paper on computer-assisted  training of central line placement:

Rebecca Hisey, Tamas Ungi, Matthew Holden, Zachary Baum, Zsuzsanna Keri, Gabor Fichtinger. Real-time workflow detection using webcam video for providing real-time feedback in central venous catheterization training, SPIE Medical Imaging, 10-15 February 2018, Houston, TX, USA, 2018 (to be published in the SPIE digital  archives)